The Fifth AIC of BSNL Employees Union was held at Com.Jyothi Basu Nagar, Thiruvananthapuram from 12th to 15th May 2010. The Reception Committe with Com. Anavoor Nagappan as Chairmn, Com.R.Muralidharan Nair, AGS as Working Chairman and Com. K.Mohanan, Circle Secretary as General Convener made excellent arrangements for the conduct of the Conference.

The National Flag was hoisted by All India President Com.J.N.Mishra and the Union Flag by Com.V.A.N.Nambodiri, General Secretary. All comrades paid homage at the Martyrs Column.

Com.M.K.Pandhe, Vice President CITU inaugurated the AIC. He emphasised the need for the joint struggles by PSU Unions/Associations against the attack on the PSUs by the Centre.

The delegates session started with J.N.Mishra, President in the chair. More thn 3,000 delegates attended. Report and Accounts were presented by the General Secretary and Treasurer respectively. 79 delegates and office-bearers participated in the discussion. The report and accounts were adopted unanimously.

A Seminar on “ Challenges Faced by BSNL” was held and inaugurated  by Com.Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, Home Minister Kerala. The paper was prsented by V.A.N.General Secretary. Leaders of sister unions participated and presented many suggestions. Com.Tapan Sen, General Secretary, CITU gave a very impressive speech on the subject.

An Open Session was held which was inaugurated by Com.V.S.Achuthanandan, Chief Minister, Kerala. He congratulated the BSNL workers for their achievements on various fronts. He was crtical of the centre’s policy on privatisation of PSUs. His speech in Malayalam was translated in Hindi by General Secretary.

Kerala Finance Minister Com. Thomas Issac gave a valuable presentation on the Alternative Economics Policies, which was keenly heard by the delegates.

Resolutions on important matters and on demands of the workers were aopted. The AIC ratified the Bhopal CEC decision to construct a union office building at New Delhi and to collect donations from the members at the rate of Rs. 300. An amount of Rs. 3,70,900 was collected on the spot. Monthly subsciption to union was increased from Rs. 15 to Rs. 20.

Office-beers were elected unanmously with  Comrades V.A.N.Namboodiri (President), P.Abhimanyu (General Secretary), P.Asoka Babu (Dy. General Secretary) and S.C.Bhattacharya (Treasurer).

Com.V.A.N.Namboodiri, who was the Founder General Secretary, reliquished the post of General Secretary and made way for the younger generation, despite fervent requests from the delegates to continue.  

The Thiruvananthapuram was a another landmark AIC in the  forward march of BSNLEU.