Mumbai All India Conference  – 2008

Fourth All India conference of BSNLEU was held in Mulund, Mumbai, the financial capital of India, from 13th to 16th February 2008. A record number of delegates (1359) and observers (2109) participated. Despite this unusual number which created a difficult situation, the Reception Committee headed by Mayor of Mumbai Smt. Dr. Shubha Raul as Chairman and Com. G.Mathpati as General Secretary, managed the arrangements comfortably.

CITU President, Com.M.K.Pandhe, inaugurated the conference. Com. J.N.Mishra, President, presided. Com. Pandhe spoke about the international and national situation and the present task of the workers. Shri A.Raja, Communications Minister, attended and explained the various actions being taken to improve BSNL. It was for the first time after many years that a Communications Minister attended the AIC. There were many top officers of DOT and BSNL accompanying the Minister.

International delegates Comrades Dulsi Desilva (Srilanaka), Vice-President of WFTU and Gopal Dhakal (TEAN), (who was later appointed as Director of Nepal Communications) with his team attended and addressed, explaining the situation in their countries. Shri Arvind Sawant, M.P. (later Central Minister) also addressed. He stated that he is under treatment in the hospital but had come to address as he could not reject the invitation from Com.Namboodiri. It is to be mentioned here that I had visited him earlier, before the verification of membership and a very friendly reception was given to me.

A seminar on ‘BSNL Vision – 2010’ was organised. The subject was presented by General Secretary. S/Shri S.D.Saxena, Director (Finance), Gopal Das, Director (HRD), Chief General Managers of Maharashtra, Telecom Factory , WTP and WTR also addressed and elaborated on the subject.  General secretaries of sister unions in BSNL also addressed.

Discussion took place on the Annual Report and Accounts as also on various issues. About 80 delegates including office-bearers participated and enriched it.  Reports from Circle Secretaries showed substantial increase in membership.

Although a  huge procession workers was decided to be  organised , but was cancelled in the last moment due to the arrest of Raj Thackeray and consequent banning of all processions by the police.

Many resolutions on important issues were adopted as also decisions on the organisational matters.

Coms.J.N.Mishra, V.A.N.Namboodiri, P.Abhimanyu and S.C.Bhattacharjee were elected as President, General Secretary, Deputy General Secretary and Treasurer  respectively.