National Convention of Workers – 19-07-2010

As per the decision of the JAC, a National Convention of BSNL workers was held on 19th July 2010 at Mavlankar Hall New Delhi to give wide publicity to the problems of BSNL and to educate and prepare the workers for agitational programmes. The Convention was presided by Com.N.T.Sajwani, Chairman of JAC. Com.V.A.N.Namboodiri Convener welcomed and also presented the draft declaration for discussion of the convention. Com.Basudev Acharya, Member of Parliament and senior leader of CITU inaugurated the Convention. Prominent Central T.U.leaders, Com.M.K.Pandhe, Vice-President CITU, Shri G.Sanjeeva Reddy, President, INTUC, Com.G.L.Dhar, Secretary AITUC, Com.Prabir Purkayastha, telecom expert and other leaders addressed the convention and supported the action programmes of the JAC.

The convention was also addressed by Coms. P.Abhimanyu (BSNLEU), G.L.Jogi (SNEA), C.Singh (NFTE), K.Vallinayagam (FNTO), Prahlad Rai (AIBSNLEA), Suresh Kumar (BSNLMS), V.Subburaman (TEPU), Hari Singh (BTU), N.D.Ram (SEWA BSNL), D.P.Patwa(AIBCTES), Shriwastava (WRU), and O.P.Gupta (NFTE). A large number of employees were mobilised from the nearby circles like Rajasthan, UP(W), Punjab, Haryana, H.P. and Uttarkhand.

As per the decision of the National Convention, circle level conventions were held with massive participation and addressed by the leaders of the JAC.

Strike postponed to 1-3 December 2010.

In view of the Bihar Assembly elections and Kerala local body elections, the JAC meeting  held on 23-09-2010 decided to postpone the three days strike from 19-21 October to 1-3 December 2010.  (To be continued)