Indian Telegraph Act 1986 amended to favour private telecos.

As per ITA 1986, only the government is entitled to provide telegraph (later telecom) services. Private telecom companies have already appeared in the field after amendment. In order to give licences to them to get assistance from the Universal Service Obligation Fund (USOF), which was only being paid to BSNL and MTNL, the Act was again amended. It has been later proved that a major portion of USOF went to the private telcos. Telecom Unions strongly objected the amendment.

Agitational programmes on sharing of BSNL and MTNL infrastructure.

The JF of BSNL and MTNL Unions / Associations organized a Telegram campaign by sending thousands of telegrams by its units all over the country to the Prime Minister on 26-04-2007 demanding that TRAI recommendations on sharing of BSNL and MTNL infrastructure to the private companies should be dropped and not implemented. Massive protest demonstrations were organized on 04-05-2007 on the same issue at divisional levels.
Again during the period from 12th 18th June 2007, one week relay dharna was organized with good participation in all places.

Memorandum to the Communications Minister

A Memorandum was submitted by the Joint Forum to Shri A.Raja, Communications Minister, on the major issues like immediate tender for mobile lines and improving the services of BSNL and MTNL. It also demanded that the tender for 4.55 crore mobile lines which was pending due to court cases filed by the private telecom companies like Motorola and which has now been cleared by the court should be immediately acted upon and the mobile lines purchased. Advance Purchasing Order can be issued in this matter. If the government was going to cause delay in the matter, the unions/associations will be compelled to go on continued agitation.
The Memorandum was signed by V.A.N.Namboodiri (BSNLEU) and Convener of JF, M.B.Vichare(NFTE), K.Vallinayagam(FNTO), G.L.Jogi(SNEA), Prahlad Rai (AIBSNLEA), V.Narayana (BSNLMS), S.V.S.Subramanyam(BTEU BSNL), Dhiraj Chaudhary(SNATTA),Satyavir Singh(MTNL MKU), Ram Prasad(MTNL KU),R.C.Chadha(MTNL SC/ST TEWA), Inder Dev Singh(MTNL MS) and S.P.Sharma(BSNLWRU).
(To be continued)