“First Session of the Congress:
On 28 December 1885, 72 social reformers, journalists and lawyers congregated for the first session of the Indian National Union at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College, Bombay; the conference was renamed as the Indian National Congress.” (Congress website).

The party, Indian National Congress, which took over the rule of India from the British on 15th August 1947, has completed 137 years of existence since its formation in 1885. The ruling party for many decades, it was completely sidelined in the last Parliamentary elections, paving for a BJP dominated NDA rule. Rahul Gandhi has become the All India President after his mother Sonia Gandhi vacated the post. What is the future of this grand national Party? Let us wait and see.