24th November 2016 is the 62nd Anniversary of formation of National Federation of P&T Employees (NFPTE). It was on 24th November 1954 that NFPTE was formed in the meeting of all the P&T Unions held at New Delhi. It was the unified organisation of the P&T Employees, merging all the unions existing then. This was as per the realignment Scheme agreed between the unions and the Government. Coms. V.G.Dalvi and Dada Ghosh (B.N.Ghosh) were the first President and Secretary General respectively.

Three great and historic strikes were organised under the leadership of NFPTE ( and other central employees organisations) in 1960,1968 and 1974 on the demands of Minimum Wage, DA, Bonus etc. It survived the brutal victimisation and attacks from the government and strengthened. In 1985, NFPTE was bifurcated in to NFPE and NFTE consequent to the bifurcation of the P&T Department.

BSNLEU is the true inheritor of the Revolutionary tradition of NFPTE. BSNLEU will continue to tread the path shown by the great leaders Babu Tarapada, Henry Barton, V.G.Dalvi, Dada Ghosh, K.G.Bose, N.J.Iyer, K.Adinarayana, Moni Bose and other leaders who led the movement in the past.

NFPTE Zindabad!