All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC) completes 95 years by today, 31st October 2015. It was founded on 31st October 1920, the first central trade union in the British India. Communists, Congressmen, Socialists – all were there in the organisation. Freedom Fighter and senior leader, Lala Lajpat Rai was its first President. Veteran leaders of various political parties were its Presidents in course of time.

AITUC was the only central trade union till 1947, when the Congress Party formed its own trade union, INTUC. HMS and BMS were formed later. CITU was formed in 1970. Now almost all political parties are having their own trade union organisation.

However, time has shown that no trade union singly will be able to settle the important issues of workers. Now all the Central Trade Unions have come together to fight for the workers’ issues on a common platform. The latest strike by the Central Trade Unions were on 2nd September 2015 on the 10 point demands which included bringing down of price-rise, Rs. 15,000 wages for contract workers, no privatisation of PSUs etc., in which more than 15 crore workers participated. The last moment withdrawal of BMS on the direction of RSS did not make much difference in the overall participation in the strike. Further co-ordinated struggles are necessary to safeguard the interests of the workers in this crucial period.