, ,

There are at least 11 Central PSUs which have no CMD for a long period. They are NFL, NHPC,STC, Pawan Hans, NALCO, SCI, BHEL, RINL, IRCTC, BEL and GSL. In many other PSUs about 50 or so, posts of Directors are also vacant without being filled up.

It is reported in the media that most of these posts ar not filled up due to the delay for approval from the cabinet Committee, which consists of Prime Minister, Home minister and the Minister in-charge of the concerned PSU.

Of course, the government wants to destabilise and make the PSUs unviable as part of the neo-liberal policy. This is one method to ensure that the PSUs do not function properly.