2nd All India Conference at Lucknow in 2003

II All India Conference of BSNL Employees Union was held at Lucknow, historical capital city of U.P. , on 2-5 June 2003. Best arrangements were made for holding the conference by the Reception Committee under the leadership of senior leaders Com.R.S.Yadav, K.D.M.Tripathy, O.P.Verma, K.R.Yadav and others. More than 2000 delegates attended.

Com. Moni Bose, Patron, BSNLEU, hoisted the red flag of the Union. Com. E.Balanandan, President CITU and always a guide and advisor to BSNLEU, inaugurated the AIC. Spoke about the task in the trade union front and the need to strengthen the public sector, including BSNL. For the first time, on our invitation, a team of delegates from Telecommunication Employees Association of Nepal (TEAN) led by its President Com. Thankalal Shrestha attended and greeted the conference. They were given a warm welcome by the delegates.

A Seminar on BSNL was organised, which was addressed by Comrade Prabir Purkayastha (Delhi Science Forum), Dev Roy (CITU) T.S.Rajan and others in addition to the presentation of the subject by General Secretary.

It was terrible heat, rising up to about 48 degrees and sitting in the spacious tent in the maidan was most difficult. Then came the cyclonic storm and torrential rain due to which the tent, decorations etc. were washed away. It was only due to the tremendous efforts on the part of the Reception Committee volunteers that necessary arrangements were made to conduct the conference in the next three days.

The Conference discussed about organizational matters. Strategies were chalked out for facing  next membership verification. Resolutions were adopted on pressing issues of the workers.

Office bearers with Comrades Moni Bose as Patron, J.N.Mishra as President, V.A.N.Namboodiri as General Secretary, P.Abhimanyu as Dy. General Secretary and Nafe Singh as Treasurer were unanimously elected.

A massive procession with participation of thousands of workers were organised. The Open Session was inaugurated by Com.M.K.Pandhe (CITU) and addressed by Comrades R.S.Yadav, Shiv Gopal Mishra (AIRF), S.C.Misra(DDG) and others.