Affiliation of Unions to JAC

The meeting of the Joint Action Committee held on 25th April 2012 discussed the requests of NFTE and FNTO for affiliation to the JAC and the same were accepted.

JAC renamed as Forum of BSNL Unions / Associations.

The meeting of JAC held on 28th May 2012 was attended by NFTE, In order to include all the new unions and to have no embarrassment to any union, it was decided to rename Joint Action Committee as Forum of BSNL Unions / Associations of Non-Executives and Executives. Comrades C.Singh and V.A.N.Namboodiri were unanimously elected as Chairman and Convener of the Forum.

Forum decides agitational programmes

The meeting of the newly constituted Forum met on 29th May and discussed about the pending issues of the BSNL employees. It was a surprise to find out that while the Management has denied 78.2% to executives, it has fully implemented the VI CPC recommendations for the ITS Officers who are on deputation and who have already opted for DOT. This is a stark discrimination towards BSNL absorbed employees.

As such, the Forum decided to organise agitational programmes immediately. The following programme of action was finalised:

1. Massive demonstrations at Circle / SSA HQs and day long dharna at BSNL Corporate office on 31st May 2012.
2. Mass Dharna at BSNL Corporate Office / Circle / SSA on 6th June 2012.
3. Indefinite Strike from 13th June 2012.
The following were the demands:
1. Immediate implementation of DPE OM No. 2(70)/08-DPE(WC)/09 dated 26th November 2008 and OM No. 2(70)/09-DPE(WC)-GL-VII/09 dated 2nd April 2009 ie.
(a) Revision of Pay as per fitment benefit @ 78.2% wef 01-01-2007.
(b) Revision of Perks and Allowances after revision of pay scales.
(i) Transport Allowance (ii) Children Education Allowance (iii) Family Planning Allowance (iv) Professional Upgradation Allowance (v) Payment of Medical Allowances on quarterly basis as per BSNLMRS (vi) Restoration of All India LTC/ Leave encashment (vii) Implement Child Care Leave (viii) Provision of superannuation benefits to direct recruited employees as per DPE guidelines.

The Strike Notice was served on 29th May 2012 and was signed by V.A.N.Namboodiri, Convener, Forum, Prahlad Rai (AIBSNLEA), P.Abhimanyu (BSNLEU), Raj Moulie (NFTE), V.Subburaman (TEPU), S.P.Sharma (BSNLWRU), Hari Singh (BTU BSNL), R.S.Yadav (ATM), R.K.Kohli (NFTBE),Suresh Kumar (BSNLMS), H.P.Singh (BSNLOA), Gajendra Kumar (BTEU), (AIGETOA), K.Sebastin (SNEA) and D.P.Patwa (AIBCTES).
A circular signed by the Convener and all General Secretaries was issued by the Forum on 7th June 2012 calling upon the employees to fully participate in the ensuing indefinite strike from 13th June. Wall posters well designed were put in the websites and all circle conveners of Forum were asked to print the same in local languages. A press statement was issued by the Convener on the strike. An effort was made to meet the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Communications. Circle were asked to form the Forum, wherever it was not formed so that co-ordinated efforts could be made. ( to be continued).