Sustained Struggles to save BSNL -13
National Seminar of BSNL Employees – 7th September 2007
As decided by the Joint Forum of BSNL Unions/Associations, a successful National Convention of BSNL employees was organized at Eastern Court premises, New Delhi on 7th September 2007. A large pandal was erected on the lawns of the Eastern Court premises, which accommodated the MTNL offices and a part of the BSNL offices. More than 500 delegates from all parts of the country attended.
A Presidium consisting of Comrades K.Vallinayagam (FNTO), J.N.Mishra (BSNLEU), R.N.Pande (NFTE), A.A.Khan (SNEA), K.Sathyanarayana (AIBSNLEA), S.S.Tomar (BSNLMS), S.P.Shrivastava (TEPU), M.C.Sharma (BSNLWRU), Hari Singh (BTU BSNL), D.P.Patwa (AIBCTES), R.S.Yadav (BSNL ATM) and Dhiraj Choudhary (SNATTA) conducted the proceedings.
Com. V.A.N.Namboodiri, GS, BSNLEU and Convener JF welcomed all, especially the delegation of Confederation of South Korean Trade Unions, which was visiting India and attended the convention. The leader of the delegation Com. Lee Sukhaeng greeted and congratulated the union for the strong fight against privatization. Convener spoke about the present situation of BSNL and the tasks ahead.
Com.M.K.Pandhe, President CITU, Sitaram Yechury, M.P., Gurudas Dasgupta M.P., Harish Rawat M.P. C.Kuppusamy M.P.and other trade union leaders addressed the convention and congratulated the BSNL workers for their struggle to save BSNL and conveyed their support and solidarity to the struggle.
Comrade M.B.Vichare (NFTE), M.R.Vasisht (FNTO), Swapan Chakraborty (BSNLEU), S.L.Reddy (SNEA), Prahlad Rai (AIBSNLEA), Suresh Kumar (BSNLMS), V.Subburaman (TEPU), Raj Kishore (BSNLWRU), Hari Singh (BTU BSNL) and A.D.Patil (AIBCTES) also addressed the convention.
The Declaration of the National Convention on the demands and agitational programmes to strengthen BSNL and provide a better service to the people was presented by the Convener JF and unanimously adopted by the house. The Convention called upon the workers to continue the struggle and to organize effective campaign and also to organize one day long dharna at circle level on 11th October 2007.
The Reception Committee headed by Coms. A.A.Khan and R.S.Chouhan made all arrangements in a very effective manner.