After much hesitation, the DOT has issued notices to all the six major private telecom companies viz. Bharti Airtel, Reliance Communications, Vodafone, Idea, Tata and Aircel, all of which has under valued their revenues to reduce payment of taxes on revenue sharing basis to a total of about Rs.46,045. 75 crore. As the first step Rs. 100 crore demand notice is issued as the first installment of recovery.

The government should act immediately to completely recover the dues.