Patna, Sept 7 : Six major Left parties today joined hands to contest the forthcoming Bihar Assembly elections and vowed to fight the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar-led JD(U)-RJD-Congress grand alliance.

Asserting that they were starting an “agitation” for the state, which would “defeat feudal, communal and corporate forces”, the Left parties said they have come together to provide an option to the public to provide “people’s rule” in the true sense.

The six Left parties which joined hands today include the Communist Party of India (CPI), CPI(M), CPI(ML), Socialist Unity Centre of India (SUCI)(Communist), All India Forward Bloc and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and were currently in the process of finalising the seat-sharing for the 243-member Assembly. (PTI)