Notice  for two days  strike on 21-22 April 2015 served on 12-03-2015

The notice for strike from 21 to 22 April 2015 was served on the BSNL Management and Secretary, DOT, on 12-03-2015 after a mighty demonstration in front of the Corporate Office. Demonstrations were held in Circles/SSAs  also on the same day.

The Strike  notice was signed by Comrades V.A.N.Namboodiri, Convener, Forum, P.Abhimanyu(BSNLEU), C.Singh (NFTE & President Forum), K.Sebastin (SNEA(I), Prahlad Rai (AIBSNLEA), K.Jayaprakash(NUBSNLW(FNTO), R.C.Pandey (BTEU), Suresh Kumar(BSNLMS), R.Venkatraman(TEPU), H.P.Singh(BSNLOA), Anoop Mukherjee(SNATTA), R.P.Sahu(AIGETOA), Rakesh Sethi(AIBSNLOA), R.K.Ram(BTUBSNL), Rana Pratap (BEA BSNL) and R.Raveendran (SEWA BSNL).

Parliament March on 25th March 2015 on Revival of BSNL

The Parliament March which was decided to be held on 19th December 2014 has been postponed to  25th March 2015.  Almost all the state level conventions were held effectively and with massive participation of employees and addressed by Forum all India leaders. Lakhs of signatures from the people were collected demanding the government to take necessary action for Revival of BSNL.

The Parliament March on 25th March 2015 started from the BSNL Corporate Office premises. The leaders of the Forum walked behind the big banner of FORUM  with Parliament March printed on it. Thousands of workers participated with banners and flags of all the unions/associations. Though the police had denied permission, the March went through Janpath, Tolstoy Marg and Jantar Mantar. When it reached near the Parliament Street, the march was stopped by the police with barricades, where a rally was held.

The rally was presided by Com. C.Singh GS NFTE & President Forum. Com.V.A.N.Namboodiri, Convener, Forum welcomed all and congratulated the workers and leaders for the massive participation and presented the demands of the workers. The Meeting was addressed by Com. Tapan Sen, MP & General secretary CITU, Shri Vrijesh Upadhyay, General Secretary, BMS, Com. Shiv Gopal Mishra, General Secretary, AIRF, Com. Amarjit Kaur, Secretary, AITUC and Dr. Dharam Vir Gandhi, M.P. (AAP). The rally was also addressed by Coms.P.Abhimanyu(BSNLEU), Prahlad Rai(AIBSNLEA), K.Sebastin(SNEA(I), R.C.Pandey (BTEU), K.Jayaprakash(NUBSNLW(FNTO), Suresh Kumar(BSNLMS), R.Venkatraman(TEPU), Hari Singh(BTU) and others.

A Delegation consisting of Comrades C.Singh, President Forum and GS NFTE, V.A.N.Nambodiri Convener  Forum, P.Abhimanyu(BSNLEU), K.Sebastin(SNEA(I) and Prahlad Rai(AIBSNLEA) went and submitted the Memorandum  to the Prime Minister’s office.

The Parliament March was a big success in all respects. The workers and leaders of BSNL Unions/Associations deserved much appreciation for the same.

Meeting with CMD BSNL was held on 17th April 2015. Since most of the items were to be decided to be settled by the DOT no agreement could be reached in the meeting.

 Mighty Two Days Strike on 21-22 April 2015

The discussion with CMD BSNL could not result in any settlement since most of the issues were to be settled with the DOT. The Secretary DOT did not call the Forum for a meeting to discuss the strike issues. Though a call was received in the late evening of 20th April for a meeting immediately, it could not take place since the General Secretaries were not available since all  were in strike preparation.

The strike started from 00.00 hours on 20/21st April and continued till 00.00 hours on 22/23 April 2015. The strike was a complete success with almost 100% in many places. In many circles the entire offices and exchanges stood closed and deserted without any employee attending. Huge demonstrations were organized in front of offices by the striking employees. The Casual and contract workers as per the call of the BSNLCCWF also struck work on both the days. As per call of AIBDPA, BSNL – DOT Pensioners participated in the demonstrations and gave solidarity and support. Central Trade Unions like CITU, AITUC, BMS, INTUC and others also supported.  AIRF, AIIEA, Confederation of Central Govt. Employees & Workers, BEFI,  NFPE, AISGEF and other Federations of employees also gave full support and extended solidarity.

Com. V.A.N.Namboodiri, Convener, met many Members of Parliament and briefed them about the demands raised in the strike and requested that these may be raised in the Parliament. The Forum is much thankful that the following Members of Parliament, Comrades Sankar Prasad Datta, Jitendra Choudhary ( both from Tripura), P.Karunakaran (leader of CPI(M) in Lok Sabha), P.K.Biju, A.Sampath, P.K.Sreemathi(all from Kerala) who raised in the zero hour in the Parliament on 22st April the issues of strike by the BSNL workers and the demands and demanded intervention by the government. Some of these M.P.s addressed letters to the Communications Minister. (To be continued)