There are 56 Communications Ministers since Independence of the country ( 1947) till now. These include Prime Ministers Jawaharlal Nehru, Lal Bahadur Shastri,  Indira Gandhi, Morarji Desai, Charan Singh, Rajiv Gandhi, V.P.Singh, Chandra Sekhar, A.B.Vajpayee and Dr.Manmohan Singh, all for brief periods.

These Communication Ministers include prominent leaders like Rafi Ahmad Kidwai (first Communications Minister),  Raj Kumari Amrit Kaur, Jagjivan Ram, H.N.Bahuguna, Brahmananda Reddy, Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (who later became President of India), Prakash Singh Badal, George Fernandez (leader of the Railway Strike 1974), C.M.Stephen, V.N.Gadgil, Arjun Singh, K.P.Unnilkrishnan, Rajesh Pilot, Sushama Swaraj, Ram Vilas Paswan, Promod Mahajan,  Kapil Sibal and the present Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

The government has always given prominence to the Communications Ministry. But some how in the last two decades, many of the ministers like Sukh Ram, Dayanidhi Maran, A.Raja etc. has been connected with scam and corruption cases.

Jagjivan Ram is the Communications Minister who served for the maximum period, 4 years 7 months and one of the most prominent leaders. None has served for full  5 years. In addition to the Prime Ministers, there are few other ministers  who functioned as Communications Ministers for one or two months, or even a few days only.