The great saga of the War of Independence came to an end on 20th June 1858 with the surrender of Gwalior Fort to the British. One after another, the leaders of the Indian side were either killed or made prisoners. Before the military might and the shrewd scheming of the British Empire, the Indians could not withstand further. After the heroic fight of more than one year, the war ended with victory to the British.
The British were cruel and vengeful. They hanged hundreds of prisoners, took away the land and forts of the defeated kings and Nawabs and favoured those who supported them.
But the end of the first war independence was not the end. A new struggle has already started. The Indian National Congress was formed in 1885, which started as a moderate organisation, grew in to a mighty force and a sustained struggle started for independence which became successful on 15th August 1947.